Ru | Eng
RSS Вконтакте Twitter Facebook Youtube

Airbus interested in cooperation with Belarus in space technology

Airbus Group is interested in developing cooperation with the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus (NASB) in space-based technology, Airbus Group Vice President for Eastern Europe Jacques Garrigue told media on 15 March, BelTA has learned.

“It is my first visit to Belarus. I am impressed, including with the National Academy of Sciences, especially the work of scientists in space technology. Airbus is interested in studying the expertise Belarus applies in the sector in order to work out possible cooperation options,” he noted.

Jacques Garrigue stressed that it is still early to talk about any concrete joint projects for Airbus and the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus. It is still early to talk about any concrete technical options of cooperation. However, the group would like to resume the dialogue with the Belarusian government and relevant ministries, including the Emergencies Ministry, he said.

Chairman of the Presidium of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus Vladimir Gusakov expressed interest in joint work with Airbus Group in space research. “We are also interested in cooperation with this company in part of flight hardware, including airships. I also believe that Airbus is interested in using the data from our satellite. We can provide the latest information on earth remote sensing,” he noted.

According to Vladimir Gusakov, Belarus cooperates with a number of countries in space research. Among them are Russia, China and Vietnam. “We will also be happy to establish robust bilateral ties with Airbus,” he added.
Airbus is one of the world’s biggest aircraft manufacturers founded in the late 1960s as a consortium of several European aircraft producers. The concern was named Airbus Group following its rebranding in 2014. The concern employs nearly 139,000 people and is headquartered in four European countries: France, Germany, the UK, and Spain. The company has its offices in 35 countries.